39th British Academy Film Awards

Winners and nominees

1. Best Film

The Purple Rose of Cairo  (Winner)


Back to the Future

A Passage to India


2. Best Actor

William Hurt in Kiss of the Spider Woman  (Winner)

Victor Bannerjee in A Passage To India

Harrison Ford in Witness

F.Murray Abraham in Amadeus

3. Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Denholm Elliott in Defence of the Realm  (Winner)

Saeed Jaffery in My Beautiful Laundrette

James Fox in A Passage to India

John Gielgud in Plenty

4. Best Actress

Peggy Ashcroft in A Passage to India  (Winner)

Kelly McGillis in Witness

Mia Farrow in The Purple Rose of Cairo

Alexandra Pigg in Letter to Brezhnev

5. Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Rosanna Arquette in Desperately Seeking Susan  (Winner)

Tracey Ullman in Plenty

Anjelica Huston in Prizzi's Honor

Judi Dench in Wetherby

6. Best Original Screenplay

The Purple Rose of Cairo - Woody Allen  (Winner)

Back to the Future - Robert Zemeckis, Bob Gale

My Beautiful Laundrette - Hanif Kureishi

Witness - Earl Wallace, William Kelley

7. Best Adapted Screenplay

Prizzi's Honor - Richard Condon and Janet Roach  (Winner)

A Passage to India - David Lean

Amadeus - Peter Shaffer

The Shooting Party - Julian Bond

8. Best Foreign Language Film

Colonel Redl  (Winner)

9. Best Cinematography

Amadeus - Miroslav Ondricek  (Winner)

A Passage to India - Ernest Day

The Emerald Forest - Philippe Rousselot

Witness - John Seale

10. Best Costume Design

The Cotton Club - Milena Canonero  (Winner)

Amadeus - Theodor Pistek

A Passage to India - Judy Moorcroft

Legend - Charles Knode

11. Best Editing

Amadeus - Nena Danevic, Michael Chandler  (Winner)

Witness - Thom Noble

A Chorus Line - John Bloom

Back to the Future - Arthur Schmidt, Harry Keramidas

12. Best Score

Witness - Maurice Jarre  (Winner)

A Passage to India - Maurice Jarre

Beverly Hills Cop - Harold Faltermeyer

The Emerald Forest - Junior Homrich, Brian Gascoigne

13. Best Makeup and Hair

Amadeus - Paul LeBlanc, Dick Smith  (Winner)

The Emerald Forest - Peter Frampton, Paul Engelen, Anna Dryhurst, Luis Michelotti

Legend - Peter Robb-King, Rob Bottin

Mask - Michael Westmore

14. Best Production Design

Brazil - Norman Garwood  (Winner)

Amadeus - Patrizia von Brandenstein

A Passage to India - John Box

Back to the Future - Lawrence Paull

15. Best Sound

Amadeus  (Winner)

The Cotton Club


A Chorus Line

16. Best Visual Effects

Brazil  (Winner)

The Purple Rose of Cairo

Back to the Future


17. Academy Fellowship

Jeremy Isaacs  (Winner)