41st British Academy Film Awards

Winners and nominees

1. Best Film

Jean de Florette  (Winner)

Cry Freedom

Radio Days

Hope and Glory

2. Best Actor

Sean Connery in The Name of the Rose  (Winner)

Gary Oldman - Prick Up Your Ears

Yves Montand - Jean de Florette

Gérard Depardieu - Jean de Florette

3. Best Actress

Anne Bancroft in 84 Charing Cross Road  (Winner)

Sarah Miles - Hope and Glory

Julie Walters - Personal Services

Emily Lloyd - Wish You Were Here

4. Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Auteuil in Jean de Florette  (Winner)

John Thaw - Cry Freedom

Ian Bannen - Hope and Glory

Sean Connery - The Untouchables

5. Best Supporting Actress

Susan Wooldridge in Hope and Glory  (Winner)

Judi Dench - 84 Charing Cross Road

Vanessa Redgrave - Prick Up Your Ears

Dianne Wiest - Radio Days

6. David Lean Award for Best Director

Oliver Stone - Platoon  (Winner)

Claude Berri - Jean de Florette

John Boorman - Hope and Glory

Richard Attenborough - Cry Freedom

7. Best Original Screenplay

Wish You Were Here - Brian Leland  (Winner)

Personal Services - David Leland

Hope and Glory - John Boorman

Radio Days - Woody Allen

8. Best Adapted Screenplay

Jean de Florette - Claude Berri and Gerard Brach  (Winner)

Prick Up Your Ears - Alan Bennett

Little Dorrit - Christine Edzard

84 Charing Cross Road - Hugh Whitemore

9. Best Foreign Language Film

Offret  (Winner)

10. Best Cinematography

Jean de Florette - Bruno Nuytten  (Winner)

Hope and Glory - Philippe Rousselot

Platoon - Robert Richardson

Cry Freedom - Ronnie Taylor

11. Best Editing

Platoon - Claire Simpson  (Winner)

Hope and Glory - Ian Crafford

Cry Freedom - Lesley Walker

Radio Days - Susan Morse

12. Best Costume Design

Radio Days - Jeffrey Kurland  (Winner)

Little Dorrit - Joyce Carter, Danielle Garderes, Claude Gastine, Judith Loom, Sally Neale, Jackie Smith, Barbara Sonnex

The Untouchables - Marilyn Vance-Straker

Hope and Glory - Shirley Russell

13. Best Makeup and Hair

The Name of the Rose - Hasso von Hugo  (Winner)

Jean de Florette - Michele Dernelle, Jean-Pierre Eychenne

The Fly - Chris Walas, Stephan Dupuis

Hope and Glory - Anna Dryhurst

14. Best Original Score

The Untouchables - Ennio Morricone  (Winner)

Cry Freedom - George Fenton, Jonas Gwangwa

Hope and Glory - Peter Martin

Wish You Were Here - Stanley Myers

15. Best Production Design

1Radio Days - Santo Loquasto  (Winner)

The Untouchables - William A. Elliott

Hope and Glory - Anthony Pratt

Jean de Florette - Bernard Vezat

16. Best Sound

Cry Freedom  (Winner)

Hope and Glory

Radio Days

Full Metal Jacket

17. Best Visual Effects

The Witches of Eastwick  (Winner)

Little Shop of Horrors

The Fly

Full Metal Jacket

18. Academy Fellowship

Federico Fellini  (Winner)