42nd British Academy Film Awards

Winners and nominees

1. Best Film

The Last Emperor  (Winner)

Au Revoir, les Enfants

Babette's Feast

A Fish Called Wanda

2. Best Actor

John Cleese in A Fish Called Wanda  (Winner)

Michael Douglas in Fatal Attraction

Kevin Kline in A Fish Called Wanda

Robin Williams in Good Morning, Vietnam

3. Best Actress

Maggie Smith in The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne  (Winner)

Jamie Lee Curtis in A Fish Called Wanda

Cher in Moonstruck

Stephane Audran in Babette's Feast

4. Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Michael Palin in A Fish Called Wanda  (Winner)

Peter O'Toole in The Last Emperor

Joss Ackland in White Mischief

David Suchet in A World Apart

5. Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Judi Dench in A Handful of Dust  (Winner)

Anne Archer in Fatal Attraction

Maria Aitken in A Fish Called Wanda

Olympia Dukakis in Moonstruck

6. Best Direction

Au revoir, les enfants - Louis Malle  (Winner)

Babette's Feast - Gabriel Axel

A Fish Called Wanda - Charles Crichton

The Last Emperor - Bernardo Bertolucci

7. Best Original Screenplay

A World Apart - Shawn Slovo  (Winner)

A Fish Called Wanda - John Cleese

Moonstruck - John Patrick Shanley

Au revoir les enfants - Louis Malle

8. Best Screenplay, Adapted

The Unbearable Lightness of Being - Jean-Claude Carrière and Philip Kaufman  (Winner)

Babette's Feast - Gabriel Axel

Empire of the Sun - Tom Stoppard

Who Framed Roger Rabbit - Jeffrey Price, Peter Seaman

9. Best Cinematography

Empire of the Sun - Allen Daviau  (Winner)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit - Dean Cundey

Babette's Feast - Henning Kristiansen

The Last Emperor - Vittorio Storaro

10. Best Costume Design

The Last Emperor - James Acheson  (Winner)

Empire of the Sun - Bob Ringwood

The Dressmaker - Judy Moorcroft

White Mischief - Marit Allen

11. Best Editing

Fatal Attraction - Michael Kahn, Peter Berge  (Winner)

A Fish Called Wanda - John Jympson

The Last Emperor - Gabriella Cristiani

Who Framed Roger Rabbit - Arthur Schmidt

12. Best Original Scrore

Empire of the Sun - John Williams  (Winner)

Bird - Lennie Niehaus

The Last Emperor - Ryuichi Sakamoto, David Byrne, Cong Su

Moonstruck - Dick Hyman

13. Best Makeup and Hair

The Last Emperor - Fabrizio Sforza  (Winner)

RoboCop - Carla Palmer

A Handful of Dust - Sally Sutton

Beetlejuice - Ve Neill, Steve La Porte, Robert Short

14. Best Production Design

Tucker: The Man and His Dream - Dean Tavoularis  (Winner)

Who Framed Roger Rabbit - Elliot Scott

The Last Emperor - Ferdinando Scarfiotti

Empire of the Sun - Norman Reynolds

15. Best Sound

Empire of the Sun  (Winner)

Good Morning, Vietnam


The Last Emperor

16. Best Visual Effects

Who Framed Roger Rabbit  (Winner)



The Last Emperor

Academy Fellowship

Ingmar Bergman

17. Best Film not in the English Language

Babette's Feast  (Winner)