64th British Academy Film Awards Winners and Nominees

[Winners and nominees]

1. Best Film

The King's Speech (Winner)

Black Swan


The Social Network

True Grit

2. Best Director

David Fincher – The Social Network (Winner)

Danny Boyle – 127 Hours

Darren Aronofsky – Black Swan

Christopher Nolan – Inception

Tom Hooper – The King's Speech

3. Best Actor in a Leading Role

Colin Firth – The King's Speech (Winner)

Javier Bardem – Biutiful

Jeff Bridges – True Grit

Jesse Eisenberg – The Social Network

James Franco – 127 Hours

4. Best Actress in a Leading Role

Natalie Portman – Black Swan (Winner)

Annette Bening – The Kids Are All Right

Julianne Moore – The Kids Are All Right

Noomi Rapace – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Hailee Steinfeld – True Grit

5. Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Geoffrey Rush – The King's Speech (Winner)

Christian Bale – The Fighter

Andrew Garfield – The Social Network

Pete Postlethwaite – The Town

Mark Ruffalo – The Kids Are All Right

6. Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Helena Bonham Carter – The King's Speech (Winner)

Amy Adams – The Fighter

Barbara Hershey – Black Swan

Lesley Manville – Another Year

Miranda Richardson – Made in Dagenham

7. Best Original Screenplay

David Seidler – The King's Speech (Winner)

Mark Heyman, Andrés Heinz and John McLaughlin – Black Swan

Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy and Eric Johnson – The Fighter

Christopher Nolan – Inception

Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg – The Kids Are All Right

8. Best Adapted Screenplay

Aaron Sorkin – The Social Network (Winner)

Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy – 127 Hours

Rasmus Heisterberg and Nikolaj Arcel – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Michael Arndt – Toy Story 3

Joel Coen and Ethan Coen – True Grit

9. Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins – True Grit (Winner)

Anthony Dod Mantle and Enrique Chediak – 127 Hours

Matthew Libatique – Black Swan

Wally Pfister – Inception

Danny Cohen – The King's Speech

10. Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Chris Morris (Director/Writer) – Four Lions (Winner)

Clio Barnard (Director) and Tracy O’Riordan (Producer) – The Arbor

Banksy (Director) and Jaimie D’Cruz (Producer) – Exit Through the Gift Shop

Gareth Edwards (Director/Writer) – Monsters

Nick Whitfield (Director/Writer) – Skeletons

11. Outstanding British Film

The King's Speech (Winner)

127 Hours

Another Year

Four Lions

Made in Dagenham

12. Best Original Music

Alexandre Desplat – The King's Speech (Winner)

A. R. Rahman – 127 Hours

Danny Elfman – Alice in Wonderland

John Powell – How to Train Your Dragon

Hans Zimmer – Inception

13. Best Sound

Richard King, Lora Hirschberg, Gary A Rizzo, Ed Novick – Inception (Winner)

Glenn Freemantle, Ian Tapp, Richard Pryke, Steven C Laneri and Douglas Cameron – 127 Hours

Ken Ishii, Craig Henighan and Dominick Tavella – Black Swan

John Midgley, Lee Walpole, Paul Hamblin – The King's Speech

Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff, Peter Kurland, Douglas Axtell – True Grit

14. Best Production Design

Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias and Doug Mowat – Inception (Winner)

Robert Stromberg and Karen O’Hara – Alice in Wonderland

Thérèse DePrez and Tora Peterson – Black Swan

Eve Stewart and Judy Farr – The King's Speech

Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh – True Grit

15. Best Special Visual Effects

Chris Corbould, Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley and Peter Bebb – Inception (Winner)

Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Sean Phillips and Carey Villegas – Alice in Wonderland

Dan Schrecker – Black Swan

Tim Burke, John Richardson, Nicolas Ait'Hadi and Christian Manz – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1

Guido Quaroni, Michael Fong and David Ryu – Toy Story 3

16. Best Costume Design

Colleen Atwood – Alice in Wonderland (Winner)

Amy Westcott – Black Swan

Jenny Beavan – The King's Speech

Louise Stjernsward – Made in Dagenham

Mary Zophres – True Grit

17. Best Makeup and Hair

Valli O'Reilly and Paul Gooch – Alice in Wonderland (Winner)

Judy Chin and Geordie Sheffer – Black Swan

Amanda Knight and Lisa Tomblin – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1

Frances Hannon – The King's Speech

Lizzie Yianni Georgiou – Made in Dagenham

18. Best Editing

Angus Wall and Kirk Baxter – The Social Network (Winner)

Jon Harris – 127 Hours

Andrew Weisblum – Black Swan

Lee Smith – Inception

Tariq Anwar – The King's Speech

20. Best Film Not in the English Language

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Män som hatar kvinnor) (Winner)


I Am Love (Io sono l'amore)

Of Gods and Men (Des hommes et des dieux)

The Secret in Their Eyes (El secreto de sus ojos)

21. Best Animated Film

Toy Story 3 (Winner)

Despicable Me

How to Train Your Dragon

23. Best Short Animation

Michael Please – The Eagleman Stag (Winner)

David Prosser – Matter Fisher

Matthias Hoegg – Thursday

24. Best Short Film

Paul Wright and Poss Kondeatis – Until The River Runs Red (Winner)

Samuel Abrahams and Beau Gordon – Connect

Piers Thompson and Simon Hessel – Lin

Michael Pearce and Ross McKenzie – Rite

Karni Arieli, Saul Freed, Alison Sterling and Kat Armour-Brown – Turning

25. Orange Rising Star Award

Tom Hardy (Winner)

Gemma Arterton

Aaron Johnson

Emma Stone

Andrew Garfield

2. Multiple nominations and wins


7 wins: The King's Speech

3 wins: Inception and The Social Network

2 wins: Alice in Wonderland


14 nominations: The King's Speech

12 nominations: Black Swan

9 nominations: Inception

8 nominations: 127 Hours and True Grit

6 nominations: The Social Network

5 nominations: Alice in Wonderland

4 nominations: The Kids Are All Right and Made in Dagenham

3 nominations: The Fighter, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and Toy Story 3

2 nominations: Another Year, Biutiful, Four Lions, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1, and How to Train Your Dragon